TO MUCH FUEL GOING TO CARB RPMs out of control

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TO MUCH FUEL GOING TO CARB RPMs out of control

hi i am new to this forum. i just got a 16 foot b*** tracker with a 1989 90 hp evinrude outboard engine on it for free. i have never worked on boat engines before but i do know a good amount about motors. i checked the compression and everything seems good (all 4 cylinders are at 125) it has a brand new vro pump but i put mixed gas in it anyway because the oil alarm isn't working. the engine starts and runs but it idles at like 5000 rpm when i took the cover for the air intake off i can see that way to much fuel is dumping into the carburators and flooding the engine. fuel is spilling out of the intake and the carbs. my initial thought was to rebuild the carbs but i don't want to waste my time if that is not the problem. does anyone have any experience with this problem any information on this problem will be appreciated. i have checked the internet and have not found any useful info

The throttle plates would have to be open to get that many rpm's or a severe air leak on intake, check linkage is set and working properly, may need to remove and clean carbs as well.
    Regards
    Boats.net
    Evinrude Outboard Parts

Comment

Originally posted by boats.net View Post
      The throttle plates would have to be open to get that many rpm's or a severe air leak on intake, check linkage is set and working properly, may need to remove and clean carbs as well.